two houses, a million homes

wise words from my friend: “It is crazy to think how much things change, especially in only a year. Friendships, hobbies, and even life styles in general. I don’t regret coming to Cottey at all, not even for a second. I know that things are different and there are people I’m no longer close to, but I have grown so much into someone that I want to be. I will never regret that.”

I just feel….going home is going to be impossible and amazing at the same time. Everything is different. How could it not be? Everything is the same though, at the same time. How could so much change? I miss people every moment of every day, every second. I regret things that I do but overall, I am happy with my life. I am happy with where I chose to go to college and I do not want to have to defended that to anyone at home. A vast majority of the people in my life were not supportive of my college choice and that is not love. Love loves no matter what. There are a lot of problems that I left at home when I got in the car over 4 months ago and drove for 600 miles. A great many. I left a broken heart, in more than one way. I don’t think my heart will ever be whole again. But it is slowly healing–here, at Cottey. Cottey is not perfect, Cottey has not been easy, it’s been the opposite but it heals me, each and every day.

I hope home does the same. I hope that there are not too many hurt feelings, too many broken toes. I just want the people that I love to know that I love them. That is all. And for them to be happy that I am happy and that my broken heart is finally healing. I have few major regrets and that is a blessing because I have been reckless. But I have learned.

 

Leave a Reply

