annoyances of an introvert #3

I’ve come to the conclusion that to be introverted is to be continuously tortured. I went to a social luncheon today at a convention for English majors. Not to make generalizations but if I had to guess, introverts make up a vast majority of English majors (yes I am aware I am generalizing and stereotyping) and to sit at that lunch at a table of people who despise small talk was torture. Nobody wanted to talk to anyone who they didn’t know, not about pointless things at least, and so we sat in silence, long drawn out, you could cut through it with a knife tension created by the silence. I find myself in these kind of situations quite often, most recently throughout this convention but also after events when the awkward small talk takes place or during classes when nobody wants to speak up. I hate this. I hate feeling the social obligation to speak, to ask people where they’re from or what they thought of this or that. I don’t care. I mean, after a while, once i know them I will care about where they from and what they think of the food, but right now? Right now, with only a name tag to their identity, I don’t care at all. So here’s my question: why can’t we just have some sort of signage that labels us as introverted and extroverted and therefore people will know that we aren’t trying to be rude, it’s just that we don’t want to be the first one to talk because we don’t want to invade your personal space if you don’t want to talk because people have done that to us too many times before? why do relationships have to start off of small talk? why can’t they be formed some other way? small talk is torture. stop asking me about the weather. there must be some other way to socialize.

Leave a Reply

