skd/std convention

i feel the need to post about this convention for memories sake. so here i go:

WEDNESDAY: i got up at the lovely hour of 6:00 to leave at 6:30 am and drive to my favorite place in the whole world: KCI! all the flights were good and smooth. we got to the hotel around 4pm and went walking down the riverfront to find a place for dinner. we ended up eating at a little pub (which of course i don’t remember the name of). i had the most amazing salad! then we headed back for the opening speaker, Alison Bechdel, who writes graphic novels. She was very interesting and afterwards, Dr. Stubblefield and Paige got their books signed by her.

THURSDAY: We headed out at 10am to go to the Juliette Gordon Low (the founder of Girl Scouts!) house. It was awesome to walk through historic Savannah and see all the old house and trees. The tour itself was all really interesting–I miss museums! I just love history and every time I go to a museum I remember that. We headed back towards the hotel then and stopped at a bistro called Cafe Gelatoooh! I had the most amazing sandwich (pesto, mozzarella and tomatoes!) and then of course we had gelato which was so good! I got dragonfruit and peach. Then we headed back to the hotel where I prepped for my panel, which was at 4:15. Nana made it in time which was awesome. There were 3 other people on my panel, 2 who wrote on V for Vendetta and 1 other who wrote on Percepolis. I read last which stunk because I didn’t really hear anything the other speakers said but it went really well I thought and we had questions and answers for about 30 minutes. Most of the questions were for the others (thank God) but some were for me and I thought I answered them pretty well. Then I headed up to Nana and Papa’s room where we waited for Auntie Rue and then the 4 of us walked over to the Pirate’s House, this old and historic but awesome restaurant. The food was SO good. I got trout, which was okay but the whipped sweet potatoes and THAT BREAD. Ah, so good. It was really nice to catch up with Nana and Papa and Auntie Rue too. After we got back to the hotel, I went to grab my computer and then showed them pictures from Guatemala and we talked more until 10pm.

FRIDAY: Paige’s panel was at 8am so Friday called for an early wake up. Her panel was over by 9:115 so I spent the next 2 hours walking along the riverfront with Nana and Papa and Auntie Rue. We shopped a bit and Auntie Rue bought me some duck stuff:) At 11:15 we had the SKD luncheon so I said goodbye to Nana and Papa and Auntie Rue after Dr. Stubblefield talked to them about how impressive me getting a paper accepted was (okay sidenote: This is the Sigma Tau Delta convention, which is the 4 year school honorary society, which means since I belong to SKD (the 2 year school soceity) I was competing against 3rd and 4th years and even grad students to get in and I wrote the paper as a 1st year so yay me?), we all went to the Boar Head with all the other SKD members and had a luncheon. It was full of awkward silences but they put books in the middle of the table as decorations which were interesting to look at. Plus the food was SO good. After that, and getting a certificate for being one of the 10 SKD members to present a paper, we walked back to the hotel and then walked to the vistor’s center across town to try and go to the ocean. The shuttle never came so we walked back to the hotel, splitting up on the way there. I ended up wandering away town for about 2 hours by myself, going to Good Will, different stores, eating ice cream and buying taffy (YUM). Then I spent the rest of the evening in the room, doing homework, besides when I went downstairs with Paige to go the Daniel Mendelsohn’s talk. He was so good! And so funny! I bought his book and got it signed:)

SATURDAY: I went to two panels this morning, one of Creative Fiction and one of Creative Non-Fiction. The pieces were so good and the Q/A afterwards was really interesting. After that I bought lunch in the hotel lobby and spent the next 2 hours doing homework and watching HIMYM in the hotel room. At 3:30 I went to Gin Phillps’ talk and got my book by her (the Dr. Stubblefield bought me! It was so nice) signed. Then we came upstairs to get changed and went to the Gala Dinner at 6:30. It took 2 1/2 hours but the food was good and the conversation (we shared our opinions about Cottey with each other and discussed issues) was refreshing. I really like the 2 women I have spent the last few days with and it was interesting to hear their opinions on things.

Tomorrow we fly back to CC! 🙂

One thought on “skd/std convention

Leave a Reply

