my persons

i have been watching Grey’s Anatomy since 9th grade (or shortly before or shortly after). 6 years. That’s a long time to walk through the lives of people. I know some don’t find TV to be that personal or that relatable but I have always felt incredibly attached to my TV characters, especially to their relationships with each other, and especially with the friendship of Cristina Yang and Meredith Grey. If you follow Grey’s Anatomy you’ll know that Sandra Oh left Grey’s Anatomy at the end of this season, which means, of course, that Cristina left too. I am happy with the way she left. It was natural. It was something that could easily happen to anyone else. But here’s the thing: I have watched Cristina and Meredith’s friendship unfold these past years and I know, as most others do, that what they have is not just a friendship. It is not a relationship either since it is more. How do you label it then? The two women do a fine job I believe: they are each other’s person. Cristina told Meredith in this last episode that they weren’t finished and Mer replied saying that she knew but Cristina had to leave anyway. Your person–it’s never over. Never the end. You simply have to begin again. “Don’t be a hero. you’re my person: i need you alive. you make me brave.” And so I sit here, typing, trying to capture these feelings I feel but I can’t, not entirely. I just want to say thank you to my person, my ‘original’ and always #1, and the others that have entered my life along the way. You know who you are.

Leave a Reply

