Texas sky

I sit. I read. The thoughts come more this way than they do at other times, except for when my heart feels at peace. I have immersed myself into Beka’s life, from Beedo to tortillas to WhataBurger to work Christmas bowling parties, the island, the pulga, pan dulce, photo booths and candy stores at the city Christmas party and dancing, just the Lopezs and me on the dance floor. There’s more of course but the beauty and joy, amongst awkwardness and questioning, of the past four days has been wonderful. My soul fines rest so infrequently (barely even now as it longs to be elsewhere-kind of, sort of. Not really?) that to feel my feet tap to the beat, with a full stomach and accepting people at my side, makes everything else fall away.

Leave a Reply

