sunshine   

I had a moment today when it really hit me (finally?) that I’m in spain. I’m not sure why it took so long, although my excuse is that this past week has been so incredibly overwhelming that to process anything fully has been impossible.

We went to Nerja today on the Costa del Sol and I went paddle boarding for the first time. The water is so clear you can see straight down even when it’s fifteen feet deep. Struggling to paddle standing up, I had reverted to paddling while kneeling and so I made my way into a small cave on the coast, under a waterfall. As I looked out, fresh water hitting my face and salt water under my board, the sun strong in my face I realized this is Spain. I’m looking at Spain and I’m going to be here for three months. This beauty is vivid and true-not in a picture, not in a dream. This is real life.

  How lucky am I?  

 

Leave a Reply

