worlds

if the world belonged to me, I would tell it to stop moving. 

I’d demand it lighten up, trick its secrets from its lips.

If the world belonged to me, I would make it slow down, take back what it has stolen.

I would twist the wind so I could fly and move the waves so I could soar. the rain would only come when the sun was already there and it would be winter summer spring and fall all at once. everything good, only good, always.

my heart would never beat too much, my chest would never shrink, my body would never reject what belongs. there would be peace, just peace, in all of its forms. 

if the world belonged to me, I would heal it so nothing ever broke again.

but the world doesn’t belong to me-

I belong to the world. 

and oh how that changes this all.

Leave a Reply

