na na na 

oh how right I was.

stopped at the light, 

red ahead,

your back to mine, your hair waving in the wind. 

I opened my mouth to call out one last goodbye-

and closed it again. 

I no longer feel the need for dramatic goodbyes. this one did not hurt. right now-and then and the last time we left each other too-I only feel joy.

I was right then, ten months ago, on those Panamanian streets:

you can not say goodbye to those you are so rooted in. what you shared threads you together. it removes the fear from my viens.

so I pushed off the ground, my red toes bright, and let you walk away.

we will both be alright until we met again.

this, now I know.

Leave a Reply

